Join our Community      Check your private messages       Profile       Search       FAQ       Memberlist       Log in

BT Yahoo update your email settings - spam??

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NetHosted Community Index -> E-mail Support
jonnymorris Reply with quote
 NetHosted Customer

 

 Joined: 22 May 2006
 Posts: 78
 

PostPosted: Sat Jul 05, 2008 9:04 am    Post subject: BT Yahoo update your email settings - spam??
 
Hi,

Today I received an email apparently from BT telling me that I needed to update my settings, strange thing is that I DO have an email account with them and the exact same message was sent to that email address too. I am confused as to why they would send one to my domain email address here as well. I actually have set up two emails here, but only one of them received this BT email (so far). In theory they should not have this email address at all.

I examined the links in the email and they appear to be legitimate, I went to BT Yahoo (not via the email links), logged in and looked around but there were no notices about verifying my email settings that I could find.

Have included a screen shot of the header from one of the emails, looks authentic to me. Just wonder if any of you guys can shed any light on this. I have not received any spam to this email address.



Picture 1.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  82.11 KB
 Viewed:  292 Time(s)

Picture 1.png


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NetHosted - Andrew Reply with quote
 NetHosted Staff

 

 Joined: 22 Mar 2004
 Posts: 5625
 

PostPosted: Sat Jul 05, 2008 11:48 am    Post subject:
 
Hi,

The headers do look legitimate. The best way to find out is to simply email/ring BT!

Thanks,

Andrew

_________________
| Andrew Bassett
| Managing Director, NetHosted Ltd.
| Resellers, take a look at overselling !
| Members, tell us what you think  of NetHosted!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
welcome2 Reply with quote
 NetHosted Customer

 

 Joined: 05 Jun 2005
 Posts: 120
 Location: sandwell

PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2008 6:50 am    Post subject:
 
Quote:
Recieved: from [213.219.11.67] (helo=ddaemail1.btcomms.com) ...

The IP 213.219.11.67 is apparently registered to paradisepokermarketing.com

(looked up on network tools )

<Monty Python>
Spam Spam Spam Spam
</Monty Python>

_________________
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NetHosted Community Index -> E-mail Support
Page 1 of 1

User Permissions
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum

 
Jump to: