Client Support Community Server Status Contact Us Client Login
Email Hosting Website Hosting Reseller Hosting VPS Hosting Dedicated Servers

    Join our Community      Check your private messages       Profile       Search       FAQ       Memberlist       Log in


Spam Attack??

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NetHosted Community Index -> E-mail Support
DarrenJ Reply with quote
 NetHosted Customer

 

 Joined: 13 Oct 2006
 Posts: 20
 

PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2006 10:58 am    Post subject: Spam Attack??
 
Was Saturn spammed last night at all?

I sent a couple of emails to an account on Saturn and they were both rejected with 550 Connection denied after dictionary attack


Accepting Email ok now though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NetHosted - Andrew Reply with quote
 NetHosted Staff

 

 Joined: 22 Mar 2004
 Posts: 5651
 

PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2006 12:11 pm    Post subject:
 
No, the dictionary attack blocks an IP from sending if it tries to send too many emails to dictionary words@oneparticulardomain.com in a very short succession of time.

Andrew

_________________
| Andrew Bassett
| Managing Director, NetHosted Ltd.
| Resellers, take a look at overselling !
| Members, tell us what you think  of NetHosted!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kestrel Reply with quote
 NetHosted Customer

 

 Joined: 16 Aug 2006
 Posts: 26
 

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2007 8:26 am    Post subject:
 
I've jsut had a mailing from a Lodon Borough blocked for this reason. It was sent to 250 + tutors on my Nethosted email system. Now managers in teh Borough can't email me or anyone else on my domains.

Sadly the Borough support team don't know a thing about this, so though it's not my job I'll have to tell them if the probelms is to be resolved. So can anyone help on these points (or suggest anything else to stop this happening in future):

1 will the denial cease automatically after a period - it's beena few days so far, with bounce messages coming in from time to time from the original mailin

2 is there anything that can be doen to prevent it happening in future - an override for specified domains for example - and how is this done?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NetHosted - Andrew Reply with quote
 NetHosted Staff

 

 Joined: 22 Mar 2004
 Posts: 5651
 

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:14 am    Post subject:
 
So to get this straight our email systems has blocked an IP because it mass mailed our servers? If so can you give more specific information about the emails sent, what times, and from what address.

Thanks,

Andrew

_________________
| Andrew Bassett
| Managing Director, NetHosted Ltd.
| Resellers, take a look at overselling !
| Members, tell us what you think  of NetHosted!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kestrel Reply with quote
 NetHosted Customer

 

 Joined: 16 Aug 2006
 Posts: 26
 

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2007 12:04 pm    Post subject:
 
No, from what I can see it's their server, but the problem is they don't understand what dictionary attack is. Jsut need to know if it's likely the block will stop in due course and if I can tell them how to stop it happening in future.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NetHosted - Andrew Reply with quote
 NetHosted Staff

 

 Joined: 22 Mar 2004
 Posts: 5651
 

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2007 12:07 pm    Post subject:
 
Dictionary attack sounds like something our server controls not their server. What is the IP address I will remove it for them and whitelist it.

Thanks,

Andrew

_________________
| Andrew Bassett
| Managing Director, NetHosted Ltd.
| Resellers, take a look at overselling !
| Members, tell us what you think  of NetHosted!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kestrel Reply with quote
 NetHosted Customer

 

 Joined: 16 Aug 2006
 Posts: 26
 

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2007 5:50 pm    Post subject:
 
Andrew:

Host Name : www.lewisham.gov.uk 

IP Address : 193.195.199.50

Please see attachment for details of error message and response from the support team

Hope this is the info needed

Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NetHosted - Andrew Reply with quote
 NetHosted Staff

 

 Joined: 22 Mar 2004
 Posts: 5651
 

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2007 6:05 pm    Post subject:
 
Chris,

That's all I needed, the IP has been whitelisted.

Thanks,

Andrew

_________________
| Andrew Bassett
| Managing Director, NetHosted Ltd.
| Resellers, take a look at overselling !
| Members, tell us what you think  of NetHosted!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Post new topic   Reply to topic    NetHosted Community Index -> E-mail Support
Page 1 of 1

User Permissions
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum

 
Jump to: